Sunday, May 31, 2009

Monsters Inc


MONSTER INC.




Book/ Film: Monster Inc.
Genre: Animation/ Childrens
Author/ Director: Peter Docter. Disney & Pixar
Characters/ Actors: Mike, Sully and Boo

Review:

Mike and Sully, two funny and adorables monsters, are job partners and best friends. They live in a monster´s city and work at Monster Inc., a big company that captures the screams of little children and turns them into energy. To make the children scream, the monsters must enter each child's bedroom through the closet door, then deliver a frightening affront. But the great problem is that kids aren't scared anymore. And because of this problem, Monsters, Inc. is in a crisis.Later, a little girl called Boo accidentally enter into the factory in the monster’s world when it´s considered like a contamination. Later Sully and Boo became friends and he helps her to back home.In my opinion, it is a very funny movie for childrens and adults, the animation is incredible! I really liked and recommend his movie. It´s fantastic!!!


Student name: Victoria Alonso
Class: 5º H

Beverly Hills 90210

Book/ Film: Beverly Hills 90210
Genre: Soap Opera
Author/ Director: Darren star and Aaron Spelling
Characters/ Actors: Jason Priestley, Luke perry, Shannen Doherty, Jennie Garth, Tori Spelling, Ian Ziering, Gabrielle Carteris, Carol Potter, James Eckhouse



Beverly Hills 90210



Review:

Beverly Hills 90210 is a popular soap opera which started in 1990 and focus on a group of teenagers who lives in the luxurious houses of Beverly hills, and goes to West Beverly Hills High School, place where the friendship between them is developed. Each chapter has a different topic such as alcoholism, pregnancy, enmity, fall in and out of love.
The main characters are the brothers Walsh: Brenda and Brandon, who lives with their parents Jim and Cindy. This family moves on from Minneapolis to Beverly Hills. There the adolescents meet Kelly, Dylan, Steve, Andrea, Donna, David, and become a united group of friends which will be together for a long time.
A very important place is the famous “Peach pit”, where the adolescents spend their time talking and having fun. The owner of it is Nat, a friendly man who accompanies the charachters along the soap opera.
I love this soap opera because I find interesting how the problems between the friends are always solved. Besides, I feel identified with some of the characters because they are as normal as everybody is with friends.


Student name: Paula Fernandez Ansoar
Class: 5to Humanistico

Walk the Line

Film: Johnny and June

Genre: Drama, musical

Director: James Mangold

Actors: Joaquin Phoenix, Reese Witherspoon, Robert Patrick, Dan Beene.

Review:


WALK THE LINE

This is the story about the singer Johnny Cash from his early days in an Arkansas farm to his rise to fame with Sun Records in Memphis. When he grows up, he joins up the army and he is sent to Alemania. When he is twenty two years old he returns to America and stays in Memphis. There he gets married with his girlfriend and starts his musical career, first with gospel music and then he changes to country music where he hilights his powerful voice.
When he starts doing concerts, he meets a singer who he has always admired, June Carter. The distance with his wife takes him to fall in love with her.
During the sixties his success leads him to the drinks and drugs, but June helps him to leave it.
Finally they get married, but they have to go over a lot of problems, and walk the line.
In my opionion, it is a fantastic movie because it has a little bit of everything, it is funny, emotional and romantic.

Student name:
Florencia Rossi


Class:
5º Humanístico

Saturday, May 30, 2009

Across the Universe

Film: Across the Universe

Genre: Drama, musical, romance

Director: Julie Taymor

Actors: Jim Sturgess, Evan Rachel Wood, Joe Anderson, Dana Fuchs, Martin Luther McCoy

Review:
This story of the sixties is about a boy from Liverpool, Jude Fenny, who travels to the United States of America to search for his father, who he has never met and who does not know he exists. He learns that his father works at Princeton as a janitor. Then he makes a friend, Max, and he meets his sister, Lucy. After the girl loses his boyfriend in the war, she starts having an affair with Jude.
Then, they move to New York City, where they know Sadie, a singer, Prudence, and Jojo. They become part of a group which wants to bring peace and love to the world.
Max does not continue his studies at the university so he is sent to the Vietnam war. Because of that, Lucy becomes involved in an anti-war movement.
I really love this film because it uses a lot of songs of The Beatles to tell the story, and it is very attractant. This is my favourite movie, I can watch it thousands of times and I will not get bored.



Student name: Florencia Rossi
Class:
5º Humanístico


New in Town


NEW IN TOWN

Film: New in Town.

Genre: Comedy- Romance.

Author/ Director: Jonas Elmer.
Cast: Renée Zellweger (Lucy), Harry Connick Jr. (Ted), Siobhan Fallon (Blanche).

Review:


New in Town is a story about an exciting and ambitious woman who lives in Miami. Her name is Lucy Hill (Renée Zellweger) and is a high achiever that tries to become a Vice President.
To show the President of the company that she has the ability, she takes a temporal assignment to restructure a small manufacturing plant of yogurt in Minnesota. That city is so cold, full of snow and icy roads.


By the way, Lucy must endurance to the hard work to succeed. When she arrives, a local woman (Blanche Gunderson) invites Lucy to her house. There, Lucy meets Ted Mitchell (Harry Connick Jr.) who is the union representative. At first, she has some conflicts with the workers, but soon they begin to accept her. To add another problem, the product line is not working, and she is ordered to close the plant. However, she has a better idea of making money for the company and saving everybody's job. The company now manufactures Tapioca, a typical Blanche Gunderson’s meal. Along the way, she finds something she didn't know she was looking for and that is love.

In my opinion, the direction is great and the actors are incredible! I really liked the movie it was so funny, I specially like Renée Zellweger’s movies. She is a wonderful comedy actress
.

Student name: Agustina Leguizamón.

Class: 5to Humanístico.

He`s Just NOT that Into You




Book/ Film: He's Just Not That Into You (movie from the book)
Genre: Romance/Comedy/Drama
Author/ Director: Greg Behrendt (writer) Ken Kwapis (director)
Characters/ Actors: Ben Affleek, Jennifer Aniston, Drew Barrymore, Jennifer Connelly, Bradly Cooper, Ginnifer Goodwin, Scarlett Johansson, Kevin Connolly, Justin Long

Review:
"He's Just Not That Into You" is from a book by the same name, written by Greg Behrendt. The basic point of view of the book is to educate women on the fact that men are most of the time dishonest, and take advantage of them or break their hearts. The movie "He's Just Not That Into You" has a clear concept: if a guy wants to call you, he will. If he likes you, he will make the effort. And if he doesn't, that means he's not interested. The cast is full with famous actresses (Jennifer Connelly, Jennifer Aniston, Drew Barrymore and Scarlett Johansson) wich all has a particular and a very different role on the movie, not less important one from the other. We can also say that all the stories are coneccted, and they show you all the different points of view of what it takes when you have (or not) a relationship. What i could rescue from the movie were a few concepts about love: You can be married and being cheating, or not trusting the one you think that loves you. You can be single and being desperate. You can have whatever you want on a relation, there are no rules, there are no exceptions, and there are no signs. We dont need to push things to happen. It`s a very interesting movie, i think it will open your mind to think a lot about how are we as women, and the atitudes that we have on this kind of situations. It's a very honest film about real relationships, because we see a lot of this on our lifes, or on the other ones too.


Student name: Tania Balmaceda
Class: 5to Humanístico

Friday, May 29, 2009

007 Casino Royale

Film: 007 Casino Royale
Genre: Action and Adventure
Director:
Martin Campbell
Actors: Daniel Craig , Eva Green , Mads Mikkelsen , Judi Dench and Jeffrey Wright

Review:

007 Never ends


Actor Daniel Craig assumes the role formerly occupied by such screen greats as Sean Connery, Roger Moore, and Timothy Dalton. In my opinion, this actor is the best James Bond of all the films. You can see great movements and attitudes which make it an agent in person, mainly stands out for being too masculine, and elegant. James Bond has earned his "00" status by the execution of master shots that ended with the death of many terrorist.

Casino Royale takes us to the beginning of the career of James Bond. His first mission as the official "007" leads him to Le Chiffre (Mads Mikkelsen), banker to the terrorists of the world. In order to stop and break down his terrorist network, Bond must beat Le Chiffre in a poker game with incredibly high stakes in the Casino Royale. Bond was annoyed at first when assigned the beautifull fair's official Secretary of the Treasury, Vesper Lynd, that she delivers the stakes for the game and watch the money from the government. However, when Bond and Vesper survive a series of lethal attacks by Le Chiffre and his murderers, a mutual attraction develops that leads to an even greater danger and events that will mark Bond's life forever.

It is clear that the movie is for anyone realizes, holds condiments that make a fantastic and complete movie, cars, fighting, shooting, action, suspense and millions of things that you can find in it.
For this reasons, I strongly recommend this movie, especially teenagers´ area who want to see a lot of action in two hours.


Student name: Pedro Varela
Class: 5th Humanistico

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button



Book/ Film: The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
Genre: Drama
Author/ Director: David Fincher
Characters/ Actors: Bradd Pitt,Cate Blanchett, Tilda Swinton y Jason Flemyng

Review:
This movie show us the life of a man whose name was Benjamín Button and, like the title says, “his rare case”, and it’s on the contrary of the human race, “on the back way”, he beggin like an old man and finish with his born. This movie talk about the most trascendent things. The truth is that this movie reflect a very important aspect of the human. “we are what we are, but like we decided live the life too” is a very important frase in the movie.
This movie is unlikely for the teenagers but it’s too significative. The adults can see things that the young people cannot, they can make a reflection of the ages.



Student name: Ramón Cruz
Class:5to H

Dr House


Book/ Film: "Doctor House".
Genre: Soap opera.
Author/ Director: David Shore
Characters/ Actors:
Hugh Laurie.

Review:

I want to tell you about my favourite soap opera I watch every Thursday at nine o’clock in the evening. I’m going to talk about Doctor House.
This soap opera is about a doctor called Gregory House who works in a big hospital at the university of Princeton as a proffesor.
Despite House is very grumpy, lonely and some times acts like a bad person, there is something than I can not explain what makes us love him.
The director of the hospital knows how the pacients are trated by House but she can’t fire him because he saves lots of pacients who noone else can save. So the argues between the director and House are regulary and very funnies. The other ones with the pacients are quite funny too.
I love this soap opera and I can spend lots of hous watching it because each chapter has differents stories if interesting medical cases and they are very entreteining too.


Student name: CAmila Bini
Class: 5to H!

A Hundred Years of Solitude


Book/ Film: "A hundred years of solitude".
Genre: novel.
Author/ Director: Gabriel García Marquez

Review:


This book was written by Gabriel García Marquez and made him won the Nobel Prize of literature.
I read it because of my mother’s advice. She said to me that she had really enjoyed reading it and I should do the same. Fortunately I took this advice and decided to read it. Now I can say that this book is one of the best that I have ever read.
The wonderful description of the situations, the characters and also the strange and funny resolution of the family’s problems which are appearing along the story is what made this book gripping.
This story is situated in a little village called Macondo where the main family live along seven generations. Between this period of time, the family had lots of daily problems which are common in all of them and they are described in a funny way.
I think I would recommend it to everyone.


Student name: Camila Bini
Class: 5to H!

Thursday, May 28, 2009

The bronze horseman

Book: The bronze horseman
Genre: Romance
Author: Paullina Simons
Characters: Tatiana Metanov, Dasha Metanov, Alexandr Belov, Dimitri--


Review:
"The Bronze Horseman" it's set in Leningrad, Russia during the World War Two. It is a story of love, war, Russia and the hardships a Soviet family would have faced during the war. Although this book is fiction, what happened in Leningrad is fact.
Two sisters, Tatiana and Dasha, lived in a small apartment with their family. One day, they heard on the radio that Alemania had invaded the URSS. The same day, Tatiana met Alexandr, a young officer of the Red Army. They felt in love, but Dasha is decided to win, because she also love Alexandr. The officer and Tatiana had to fight for their impossible love.
In Leningrad everyone was starving to death and Tatiana and her sister escaped and go to Lazarevo, always followed by Alexandr Belov.
The novel is very romantic, and of course it has a lot of sad situations, with all the scanty food and the bombs and the innocent people dying. But is worth some drama, because the main story is the most beautiful ever. Paullina Simons writes the book so emotionally that it's impossible to be cynical about anything. Although, this book contains some humour.
You have to love reading to estimate it, because the book has almost 800 pages!
I already read it two times :)


Student name: Sofía Santos
Class: 5h

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Cast Away


Film: Cast Away
Genre: Drama
Author/ Director: Robert Zemeckis
Characters/ Actors: Tom Hanks, Helen Hunt, Nick Searcy, Christopher North.


Review:
The film is about a man who lived in a big city, working hard in a delivery company. His life was very boring until one day, he had to travel to Hawai for eight days and the plane in which he was travelling, crashed in to the sea. This man was the only survivor and he needed to gets to the beach and find a way to get back to his city.
He arrived on Cook Island and stayed there for four years.
He tried to find a solution but always found himself back in the same situation. He had a horrible time, because he wasn't used to to the wild life. Furthemore he was suffering and missing his girlfriend and his real life.
Time passed and the man found a ship to take him back home.

In my opinion "Shipwrecked" is a fantastic movie, because it includes many things and values. You learn that you should be careful with your life and be thankful for got it.
Is a movie that I saw many times. I recommend you to watch it because I'm sure you'll like it!

Student name: Agustina Féraud
Class: 5th Hum.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

Book/ Film: Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

Genre: Adventures

Author/ Director: J.K. Rowling

Characters/ Actors: Harry Potter, Hermione Granger, Ron Weasley.

Review:

This one is the first book of Harry Potter's saga and its emergence fits in a perfect way to a fairies' history.

I chose this book because it is the reason why I started reading since I was just nine years old, and because as I began reading with it, lots of kids and teenagers around the world did. 

This is a story based on a child called Harry Potter, who had grown with his aunt Petunia, his uncle Vernon and his hateful cousin Duddley, after had suffered the loss of his parents, supposedly, in a car accident. When the years past and Harry was finally eleven, he met Hagrid, the gamekeeper of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, who told him the real story about his parents’ death (in the hands of the dark wizard Lord Voldemort) and revealed Harry a great notice: he was a real wizard. From that moment, Harry's life gave an overturn of 180 degrees, and there's when the magic story begins: in the following months he will discover a lot of things about this new world, and he will also be envolved in a fight against his father's murderer,  Lord Voldemort, trying to avoid him to get the Philosopher's Stone.

I believe that the author made a great work with this book: in the story, she includes a lot of children's characteristic problems, like the discrimination among themselves, which is a very important topic inside the story.


Student name: María Agustina Forcatto

Class: 5° Humanístico

Big Fish

Book/Film: Big Fish
Genre: Comedy/Drama
Author/Director: Tim Burton
Characters/Actors: Ewan McGregor, Albert Finney, Danny DeVito, Helena Bonham-Carter, Jessica Lange

Review:

Edward Bloom was a man who used to narrate moments of his life adding them some fantastic characteristics. When he did it in his son's wedding, his son Will stops talking to him for years. Will lived in Paris, but a couple of years later, when his father got sick, he come back with his pregnant wife Josephine to visit him.
During the movie, Edward tell some stories specially to his daughter-in-law, who didn't know them until that moment. For example, Edward describes perfectly how he felt when he saw Sandra Templeton, his actual wife, for the first time. And how he tried to find her, crossing a lot of obstacles.
The movie is full of mystic and strange creatures, like werewolves, giants, siamese sisters and witches with glass eyes. It also show places that doesn't exist, like a small town in the middle of nowhere, very difficult to find, and with extremely nice people living in. And, of course, there is a circus which has the most incredible group of 'freaks' and acrobatic animals.
I love this movie because is different than the others. It's not the classic Hollywood movie, it's unique but still fun. I specially like Tim Burton's movies, he's very creative.


Student name: Sofía Santos
Class: 5h

Monday, May 25, 2009

Closer



Book/ Film: Closer
Genre: Drama/Romantic
Author/ Director: Mike Nichols
Characters/ Actors: Julia Roberts, Jude Law, Natalie Portman, Clive Owen

Review:
Dan Wool is a journalist who wrote a book wich is going to be published soon. Anna Cameron is a photographer and she will do the front of it. A strong atraction starts between them, but at the same time Dan is having a relation with Alice Ayres, an ex stripper. Anna starts a relation with a doctor called Larry Gray because of a joke that Dan made with the chat. So, here starts a serial of confusions, lies, and betrayals between them. Nobody is sure about who they love or what they really want. This way they hurt themselves and the others.

This film shows the fact of many relations nowadays, how we sometimes keep lying until we can´t go on with that. Also, how a person can be hurt telling him/her hard things but which are truth. This is my favorite film and makes me to think a lot of about relationships and our human side respect of them.
My favorite character is Dan wool, he is a romantic and charming man, who always needs to know the truth, what becomes him in a suspicious man. He always says the truth even it could be painfull.

Student name: Enzo Buonassisa
Class: 5º H

The Secret Life of Bees



Book/ Film: The Secret Life of Bees
Genre: Drama
Author/ Director: Tony Richardson
Characters/ Actors: Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, Alicia Keys, Sophie Okonedo, Paul Bettany, Nate Parker, Tristan Wilds, Hilarie Burton.

Review:
After her mother death, Lily search help in Boatwright sister’s home, where she will find happiness in the simplest things of life. With Dakota Fanning and Queen Latifah.
August Boatwright (Queen Latifah), was the owner and administer or a farm and of the honey business. Apart from that she has the responsibility of take care about the family, with her sisters. The cruel music teacher and the sweet May.
The sisters Boatwright life got a change when Lily Owens, fourteen years old, and Rosaleen, her grandmother, got there searching a home and a family.
Lily got on really well with each of the women that were living there, who help her to deal up with her mother’s death.
After all she got the conclusion that sometimes you need to live your home to find your family and home.

Student name: Agustina D'Antona
Class:5to humanistico

Prison Break

Book/ Film: Prison break
Genre: drama/action
Author/ Director: Paul scheuring
Characters/ Actors: Wentworth Miller, Dominic Purcell, Robert Knepper, Sarah Wayne Callies

Review:
The succesfull serie "prison break", is about the life of Lincoln Burrows, a man with a very hard life. Since he was a kid, he had to take care about his little brother called Michael Scofield, because their father left them behind and their mother was supposed death. Lincoln, as an adult was condemn to die, in the state prison of chicago called Fox River, because of the assassination of Terence Stedman who was the vice-president´s brother. The fact is that he is innocent. So, Michael leaves his succesfull life as an engineer and thinks an incredible plan to take his brother out from prison before his execution. He commited a bank robbery and was condemn to prison. He managed to be sent to fox river´s prison. There he starts his incredible mission to escape from prison with his brother and find the way to prove his innocense. Fighting against the conspiration called "the company" who was the responsable of that, but it will do anything to kill the brothers.

Theodore Bagwell (T-Bag) is my favorite character of this serie. He is a villane, one of the "bad guys" in the prison but with a special personality. He meets the brothers in prison. They don´t like him but when he realizes about the plan of escape, he forces the brothers to take him as part of it, He surprises you each chapter with his strange and twisted personality.

Prison break is my favorite serie because since the beginning of it you can´t stop watching it and wondering yourself how it will go on. I recomend it for all people who want a very original and addictive story.

Student name: Enzo Buonassisa
Class: 5º H




Mean Girls

Mean Girls


Film: Mean Girls
Genre: Comedy
Author/ Director: Mark Waters
Characters/ Actors: Lindsay Lohan, Rachel McAdams, Tina Fey

Review:
The movie opens up with Cady Heron embarking on her first day of the jungle that is high school ever as she study in school in Africa her whole life. After some problems, she manages to be friend for two misfits, Janis and Damian. Surprisingly, however, she is also quickly welcomed into the Plastics, a group of popular girls who seem to be simultaneously admired and resented by all. On Janis's urgings, Cady infiltrates in the Plastics, and her mission is destroy this group. Cady destroys it but feels guilty. Cady then asked forgiveness for what she did.

In my opinion this movie is very funny! i love it!

Student name: Victoria Alonso
Class: 5to H

Sunday, May 24, 2009

17 Again


Book/ Film: 17 Again
Genre: Comedy
Author/ Director: Burr Steers
Characters/ Actors: Zac Efron y Matthew Perry

Review:

This flim is about a man called Mike O´ Donell who graduated in 1989 being a basketball star player. Suddenly he decided to leave all this in order to share his life with his girlfriend Scarlett and the baby they were expecting.

After 20 years he realised that his life hasn´t been as he thought it could be. He has divorced from Scarlett and now he´s living in the house of his best friend Ned Freedman.

Besides, his job in a drugstore company was boring him and he was having a bad relation with his two adolescents children.

One storny night as Mike was driving along to his friend´s house, he saw the man who has been charge of the cleanness of his school; He was high on the fence of a bridge watching the river.

Mike stopped his car with the intention to stop the man of throwing himself to the river, but when he arrived the man had dissapeared and Mike slipped and fell into the river.

The next morning when he arrived to Ed´s house, he realised when he looked himself in the mirrow that he was again as a boy of seventeen.

Mike thought that perhaps this was the opportunity to rebuild his life. Then he returns to school saying that he is the illegal son of his friend Ed.

Now Mike´s children are his mates and this is the opportunity for him to be in touch with his children and in this way he could give them his fatherly confidence that they have never had.

In this way, Mike can discover how his children really are, because he didn´t know him as much as he thought.

Mike also tries to be in touch with his wife Scarlett in order to recover his marriage.

At the end of the film Mike realised that his life was his wife and his children and he would give anything to be 35 again and repair his mistakes.

Finally and magically Mike has again 35 and his life recovers.




Student name: María del Rosario
Class: 5º H

Spider- Man 3


Book/ Film: SpiderMan 3
Genre: Action, Drama
Author/ Director: Sam Raimi
Characters/ Actors: Tobey Maguire, Kirsten Dunst, Topher Grace, Thomas Haden Church

Review:

In Spider-Man 3, based on the legendary Marvel Comics series, Peter Parker has finally managed to strike a balance between his devotion to Mary Jane and his duties as a superhero. But there is a storm brewing on the horizon. As Spider man basks in the public's adulation for his accomplishments and he is pursued by Gwen Stacy, who rivals M.J. for his affections, Peter becomes overconfident and starts to neglect the people who care about him most.

His newfound self-assuredness is jeopardized when he faces the battle of his life against two of the most feared villains ever (Thomas Haden Church, Topher Grace), whose unparalleled power and thirst for retribution threaten Peter and everyone he loves.

This couldn't have been done without, of course, of the great special effects with which the creators have worked.

A very intrigating and breathtaking movie, in my opinion the best of the three.

Student name: Sebastian Cantelmi
Class: 5º H

The 40-Year-Old Virgin


Book/ Film: The 40-Year-Old Virgin
Genre: Comedy
Author/ Director: Judd Apatow
Characters/ Actors: Steve Carell, Catherine Keener, Paul Rudd
Review:


This film talks about the story of a 40- year old man called Andy Stitzer who, for some circunstances, is still virgin. He works at an electronic superstore, and has been working there since a long time; he also has an apartment full of teenagers or, (seeing what his age is) nerd things, like action figures and comic books, lots of videogames, etc.

Having discovered his secret (that he is virgin) his friends at the store consider their duty to help Andy out of his dire situation and go to great lengths to help him. then he meets Trish, a 40-year-old mother of three and also a grandmother. Then a lot of things happens, one of them for example is that they make a promise of not having sex for a period of time, or a fight based on the fact that Andy is afraid of telling the truth to Trish, so many confussions occur. Finally, they both get married and Andy stopped being virgin.

Student name: Sebastian Cantelmi
Class: 5º H

Evil Dead 2


Book/ Film: Evil Dead 2
Genre: Horror, Comedy
Author/ Director: Sam Raimi
Characters/ Actors: Bruce Campbell

Review:

A sequel or, for some people, remake of the film The Evil Dead. A young man named Ash takes his girlfriend Linda to a cabin in the middle of a dark and mysterious forest, finds a professor’s tape, and plays it back. It was about a traduction of the “Book of the Dead”.
The spell calls up an evil force from the woods which turns Linda into a monstrous Deadite (wich were the name that the film puts to the monsters), and tries to do the same to Ash. When the professor's daughter show up at the cabin, the night turns into a non-stop, grotesquely comic battle with chainsaw and shotgun on one side, demon horde and flying eyeball on the other.
The movie has nice visual effects and still keeps your eyes focused on the screen, despite of being a little bit old. Is considered for all the non-under sixteen years old public.


Student name: Ignacio Igarreta
Class: 5 H

Army of Darkness


Book/ Film: Army of Darkness
Genre: Horror, Fantasy, Comedy
Author/ Director: Sam Raimi
Characters/ Actors: Bruce Campbell, Marcus Gilbert, Bridget Fonda

Review:


In this sequel to the Evil Dead films, a employee (Ash) is warped to a medieval castle age attacked by monstrous forces. Initially mistaken for an enemy, he is soon sent on a quest for the Necronomicon, a book which can take the evil away from those lands. Unfortunately, he screws up the magic words while collecting the book, and releases an army of skeletons. Then, a thrilling, battle between Ash's 20th Century tactics and the minions of darkness happens.
This film conbines comedy with a touch of bizarre- horror- fantasy wich makes different types of viewers to find the movie interesting an comfortable to their eyes.




Student name: Ignacio Igarreta
Class: 5 H

Friday, May 22, 2009

Valentin



Film: "Valentín"Genre: Comedy Drama.Director: Alejandro Agresti.Actors: Carmen Maura (Grandmother), Julieta Cardinali (Leticia), Jean Pierre Noher (Uncle Chiche), Rodrigo Noya (Valentín), Alejandro Agresti (Father), Mex Urtizberea (Rufo), Juan Cruz Burdeu, Carlos Roffé (Dr. Galaburri)
Review:

“Valentin” is set in Buenos Aires in the year 1960. Valentin, the main character, is nine years old and lives in a very simple house with his grandmother. Unluckily, he does not see his mom regularly and his dad does not care about him. He does not have many friends. Valentin is a very timid boy, who really feels alone.
He has two big dreams: firstly, he wants to become an astronaut and secondly he wants to meet his mother. However, his father does not want to do it and is always trying to introduce Valentin his new girlfriends. One day, Leticia appears and Valentin sticks to her a lot. She really helps Valentin and make him feel more supported. Also, a new character is introduced. His name is Rulfo, a pianist. Valentine treats them as if they were his real parents, and starts to behave in a different way.
Finally, I believe this film is an example of love. It also shows the importance of dreaming and having illusions that make our life better.



Student name:
María Aiello Lacal.Class:
5to Humanístico.

If only



Film: "If Only"
Genere: Romantic Drama.
Director: Gil Junger.
Actors: Jennifer Love Hewitt, Tom Wilkinson, Paul Nicholls.

Review:
“If only” is a romantic drama, which tells the story of a young couple, who live together. One morning, after having a big argument, the girl has a car accident and dies.
However, this is not the end of the film because, he is given the opportunity to “repeat the day” in order to mend his mistakes. Although the car accident finally occurs, they spend one last day together, without arguing.
This film really amused me. I believe it is a fantastic option that everyone should take into account! It taught me that it is important to realize that life and love are our treasures. We need to look after them carefully.


Student name: María Aiello Lacal.
Class: 5to Humanístico.

Thursday, May 21, 2009

Twilight


TWILIGHT

The history beguins when Isabella Swam, a teenager of seven teen years, after the wedding of his mother with a baseball player decided to move to Washington, where her father Charly lives. Since then, the young Bella no only will make new friends but will live surprising experience.
During his first day of clases, Bella is surprice of seeing five students that, are different from the rest of the students, are beatuful, pale and maintain them selves aside from the others. One of them, Edward Cullen, is the one who intrigues more Bella especially when he saved, her from dying crushed by a car, thanks to his strength and spend.
As days pass, the gathering of data and the evidence, take her to suspect of the existence of an atypical characteristic in these individuals. Bella comes to the conclusion that Edward is a vampire.
Regardless of yhe reality, they begin a sentimental relation and Bella is invited by Edward to meet his family and enjoy a day with baseball, a sport which they enjoy specially on stormm days.
However, whit the game devolops appear, James, Laurent and Victoria, three vampires who will put in danger Bella`s life.
Once out of risk, Bella escapes from the village, but suddenly she realises that she couldn`t get rid of James, who tries to kill her, but he didn`t thanks to Edward and his family.
Some days later, Bella awakes in a hospital and sees close to her bed, her mother and Edward. Though he recognises that best thing is to take distance from Bella, they both know that their love makes that none could live separed from the other.



Film: Twilight
Genre: Romantic - Comedy
Director: Catherine Hardwicke
Actors: Kristen Stewan, Robert Pattison, Billy Burke, Aheley Greene, Nikki Reed, Jackson Rathbone, Kellan Lutz, Peter Facinelli, Cam Gigandet, Taylor Lautner, Elizabeth Reaser, Edi Gateghi, Rachelle Lafevre,


Student name: Constanza Bidegain
Class: 5º Humanísitico

New Moon

Book: New moon
(New moon is second book of twilight saga)
Genre: young adult,Romance novel
Author: Stephenie Meyer



Review:


When Bella Swan was eighteen, Alice (sister of Edward) and Edward Cullen, the vampire that she loves decide to make a birthday party on mansion Cullen but she does not like it because she is one year older than him, but in the party ocurred there is an accident Bella cuts her finger with a present and Jasper Hale smells the blood and attacks her but Edward deffends her.
Edward decide to end the relationship with her but makes Bella promise that she wouldn't do anything stupid or dangerous.Edward and his family leave Forks.
Bella gets depressed for months.Bella find relief with Jacob Black (werewolf), they develop a friendship.They do many different dangerous things on a motorbike and that helps her to remember Edward more clearly.While Jacob protecs her from other vampires bad.Bella breaks her promise and does something stupid she jumps from the bridge and falls into the water,but Edward thinks that she has died because he can't comunicate telepathically with her,Edward travels to Italy to a place called Volterra to provoke the Volturi so they will kill him.Alice finds Bella and says that Edward wants to die.Alice and Bella travel to Volterra to save Edward they arrive just in time. Edward ,Alice and Bella return to Forks and Edward tells her the truth about why had left her alone. Bella understands, but she wants to become a vampire, but Edward tells her that he can turn into vampire after they marry.

This novel will be adapted into a film in november.


Student name: Lourdes Sabrina Rodríguez
Class: 5º Humanístico

Live!


Film: Live !
Genre: Drama
Director:
Bill Guttentag


Review:

the film begins when katy (Eva Mendes) a televisión ejecutive developes the most watched reality show tv of all time.
The reality show live! where contestants play russian roulette with a loaded gun with just one bullet.
In the meanwhile katy resolves the obstacles with federal comunications comision and advertirsers of the show.At the same time Rex (David Krumhaltz) makes a documentary with the life of each contestants which includes a young writer (Rob Brown), an extreme sport star (Eric Lively),a man trying of save the family farm, an aspiring actress (Katie Cassidy),an supermodel converted in performance artist (Monet Mazur) and a young inmigrant determined to help her mother (Jay Hernandez).
The reality is made and it is a success but later when one of the contestan dies playing russian roulette,Katy feels very sorry about it but when she leaves the studio someone kills her.




Student name: Lourdes Sabrina Rodríguez
Class:
5º Humanístico

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Lost

Book/ Film: LOST
Genre: Drama and romance
Creators : J.J. Abrams, Damon Lindelof, Jeffrey Lieber.



Characters/ Actors: Jorge Garcia, Josh Holloway, Mathew Fox, Naveen Andrews, Yunjin Kim, Evangeline Lilly, Terry O'quinn.

Review:

Has ever happened to you that you can't take your eyes off the TV while your fauvorite soap opera is on?. That is what happens to me everytime I watch Lost.

This is a programme which consists of 7 principal characters: Hurley, Sayid, John Locke, Kate, Jack, Sawyer and Sun. These people were flying to a particular destination, when suddenly the plane crashed and found themselves in a desert island, in the middle of nowhere. The characters previously mentioned face magical and weird situations, which creates a mistery. The instinct of survival is really interesting and how the relationships between the actors develops each chapter really catches you.

My fauvorite character is without any doubt Sawyer, a man who is always rude, but when he felt in love with Kate, he turned into a lovely man each time he was with her. At first impression, he seems to have no feelings, but at last you realize his good qualities.

Every chapter leaves you a feeling of intrigue, because there is always a problem without resolution, and I always wonder what is going to happen. I think that is what keeps me on watching it, and I am quite sure that every person who watches it would feel the same, so I would strongly recommend it to all the people, with no limit of age.



Student name: Paula Fernandez Ansoar
Class: 5to Humanistico

13 going on 30


- Film: “13 going on 30”.

- Genre: Comedy.

- Director: Gary Winick.

- Cast: Mark Ruffalo, Jennifer Garner, Judy Greer and Kathy Barker.



Review:


13 going on 30 tells the story of a 13 year old girl called Jenna who wishes to look older than her real age. One day she invites her best friend and neighbour Matt and the coll school kids to her birthday party.

Unluckily Jenna is humiliated when they lock in the closet for a game and everyone leaves her alone. At that moment Jenna makes a wish, she wants to be grown up. Her wish come true.

The next day she is thirty year old, she is a successful woman with a great jod and lives in a fabulous appartment. She is cool and popular. Although Jenna is enchanted by her new life, she misses Matt. After that she discovers that he is engaged to be married and feels jealous.

Finally Jenna wants to go back to her thirteens to be able to fall in love with Matt and enjoy life together.

Im my opinion, this film teaches me that we don´t have to run in life. We have to enjoy the time we are living even moment though we may have problems.

Student name: Maida Salto.
Class: 5to Humanistico.

Saturday, May 16, 2009

The Secret Window


Book/ Film: The secret window
Genre: Mistery
Author/ Director: David Koepp
Characters/ Actors:
Johnny Depp, John Turturro, Maria Bello, Charles S. Dutton, Timothy Hutton, Len Cariout y Gillian Ferrabee.

Review:

I choose this film, because it’s my favorite since years.
The Secret Window tells the story of the mystery writer, Mort Rainey (Johnny Deep). One day he is confronted by a stranger, called John Shooter, he accused Mort to has stolen an idea for a story from him. Mort try to prove that he had written without copying but while Mort is waiting for the evidence, Shooter starts to commited some crimes. My favorite characters is Mort Rainey because I love Johnny Deep, and i think his acting in this particular film is amazing I strongly recommended this movie for all the people who likes novels, mistery and horror films, it is a really interesting movie and it has all the thing that a movie needs.


Student name:Agustina D'Antona
Class:5to humanistico

Friday, May 15, 2009

Gossip Girl

Soap Opera: Gossip Girl

Genre: Drama.
Author/ Director: Josh Schwartz, Stephanie Savage and Cecily Von Ziegesar

Characters/ Actors: Blake Lively(Serena),Leighton Meester(Blair) , Chace Crawford(Nate),Ed Westwick(Chuck), Penn Badgley(Dan) and Taylor Momsen (Jenny).

Review:


Gossip girl is one of the best soap opera I have ever seen.

This story is about the privileged teens from Manhattan’s rich Upper East Side. There, all of them are involved into some problems where they have sex and parties, drink alcohol, etc., so they live in their own world.

At the heart of the action revolves an anonymous blog that notice the personal lives of popular students including two best friends, Serena Van Der Woodsen and Blair Waldorf. This beautiful rich girls have a lot of fights about “boys” but they can solute them. Some of their friends are Nate Archibald, Chuck Bass (a rebel boy) and two teens from the middle-class, Dan Humphrey and his sister Jenny Humphrey.

All of the students have, obviously, a mobile-phone because secrets travel so fast when everyone gets them by text message. Also they have their own vocabulary. They abridge some words, for example when they have to call a friend they say it using the first letter (Blair= B) and when the episode has finished a person tell what has happened and say XOXO (kisses&hugs), Gossip Girl.

Gossip girl is one of the soap operas that make me keep on watching because every time you watch it a new problem began. I like it so much and if you like “gossips”, you should watch it because it’s an interesting drama that involves the life of teenagers, but pay attention, this soap opera is just for girls!


Student name: Agustina Leguizamón
Class: 5to Humanístico.

Wednesday, May 13, 2009

The holiday

- Film: “The Holiday”
- Director: Nancy Meyers.
- Author: Nancy Meyers.
- Genre: Comedy.
- Cast: Cameron Díaz (Amanda Woods), Kate Winslet (Iris Simpkins), Jude Law (Graham Simpkins), Jack Black (Miles), Eli Wallach (Arthur Abbot)

- Review:

“The holiday” tells the story of two women: Iris and Amanda. On the one hand, Iris, a committed editor for “The daily telegraph newspaper”, is head over heels in love with a man who is about to marry another woman. On the other, Amanda, a successful editor of movie trailers, discovers that the man she lives with has been unfaithful. Surprisingly, two women who have never met find themselves in a similar and annoying situation. Feeling hopeless, both women decide to surf a “home exchange website” in order to trade homes, seeking a different and relieving experience. While Iris moves into a hyper modern and enormous house in California, Amanda arrives at a rustic and quiet cottage in England. Soon after settling down in those places, they find the last thing they expect: a new romance. Amanda is charmed by Iris´ brother, Graham and Iris falls in love with Miles, a gifted film composer.
Moreover, the movie in question relies entirely on staggering performances, which show clearly why these actors and actresses are regarded as excellent, as well as on an entertaining and attention-grabbing plot.
On the whole, I believe firmly that “The holiday” is an extraordinary love story, where FATE plays a crucial role. Actually, it teaches that there is always a light at the end of the tunnel and that our heart can be easily mended with love.

- Student name: Lucía Belén Queizán.
- Class: 5º humanístico.

Monday, May 11, 2009

The OC

TV serie: "The OC"

Genre: Comedy, drama and romance

Creator: Josh Schwartz

Characters: Peter Gallagher, Kelly Rowan, Ben McKenzie, Adam Brody, Rachel Bilson, Melinda Clarke, Mischa Barton and Tate Donovan


The O.C. Orange County, It's where all the beautiful people live

I have to tell you about my favorite TV serie , Te OC, which is based on the life of richest families living in Southern California, Newport Beach, Orange County.
The story begins when Ryan Atwood, a problematic child with an unstructed family who live in “Chino” (a slum to few miles from Newport Beach), is involved in the theft of a car with his brother. After being abandoned by his family, is recognized for his public defender (lawyer), Sandy Cohen, who invited him to lives with his family in Newport. Ryan comes to Newport and tries to adapt in the new world. Sandy´s wife is Kirsten, the daughter of a multimillionaire and director of a major real estate company, and his son Seth, a teenager who doesn´t fit with the youth of Newport. Ryan quickly integrate into the family and be another son for them, also the best friend of Seth. Atwood begins to interact with Marissa Cooper, her neighbor, with whom he establishes a romantic relationship.
Soon, Ryan begins to discover the real world of Newport Beach, wealth and ostentation. In O.C. it is discusses several topics, showing, while criticizing, the high society of the U.S. West Coast.
Another important thing, is the relationship between Seth and Rachel. In my opinion, they are the best of the serie, because both always make me laugh and their love is uncommon but nice at the same time. The OC has all the condiments to be one of the best. Moments of sadness, tension, excitement and action. I strongly recommended for teenangers, because it shows their life and their reality, drugs, sex, love and fights.


Student name: Pedro Varela

Class: 5th "H"

Thursday, May 07, 2009

Brothers and Sisters

Soap Opera: Brothers & Sisters
Genre: Drama
Director: Jon Robin Baitz
Actors: Dave Annabel, Calista Flockhart, Balthazar Getty, Rachel Griffiths and Sally Fields

Review:

Get Into the real drama of brothers and sisters

Dave annabel, Calista Flockhart, Balthazar Getty, Rachel Griffiths and Sally Fields made one of the best soap opera ever.

Nora Walker is a liberal woman married to a conservative Republican man, William Walker, who is the owner of an important company.
After William death, in a family reunion, Nora and her children discovered that he had had an affair with another woman, Holly Harper. To make matters worse, both of them had had a daugther together, Rebecca Harper.
Now the Walker family have to live and accept their new sister.

B&S offers every week a new problem. Real life problems that make me feel identified, that's what makes me keep on waching it again and again.
So if you like real drama I strongly recommend you to see Brothers & Sisters.

Student name: Florencia Castiglioni
Class: 5th "H
"

Saturday, May 02, 2009

The Notebook

Film: The Notebook
Genre: Drama/ Romance
Director: Nick Cassavetes

Starring: Ryan Gosling, Rachel McAdams, Gena Rowlands, James Garner
Review:

With every great love comes a great story

Some people claim that “The Notebook” is a silly love story between two, but in my opinion is more than just that. Is a romantic and full of passion story, which show us that real love can cross all obstacles.

Allie and Noah had oposite thoughts, she was a girl from the high society and he was a mill worker, but since the first time he saw her, he knew that they were meant to be together. Along the story their love came every day bigger and bigger but suddenly Allie had to move away for school.
A few years later Allie met Noah one more time to discover what they both felt. Now Allie had to decide between her real love or her new fiance.

Not only the spectacular chemistry between Allie and Noah catch our atenttion but also the amazing sceneries and the romantic dialog. Dialog full of truth that in some point makes you feel identified.

The Notebook is one of those movies that will make you feel both happy and sad, yet still smiling. So if you like what you read, you will love waching it.


Student name: Florencia Castiglioni
Class: 5th "H"